Good news, in a way… But mostly bad, really.

So my HSG gave a positive!

But not a ‘Big Fat’ one. I got pregnant, but it has not developed sufficiently. There’s no chance I’m afraid.

The level should be around 100 and mine was a teeny weeny 7.51. The doc told me “you are pregnant, but…,” I am wondering if this is what’s named a “chemical pregnancy”. I’m gonna google that later.

I have to stop all the meds and bring on my period. We have 5 more good embryos and doc says my lining is obviously good but it’s likely the embryos just stopped or something.

So now we need to decide if we try again this cycle, or wait. My overwhelming urge is “again, again!!”. A thinks we ought to wait. Unless there is a physiological reason not to go ahead this next cycle, why not? I don’t want to put it off so it’s hanging over our heads longer than necessary.

Advice from experience, anyone?

11 comments

  1. I got pregnant last summer with a low HSG for 24 and it went up into the 800 range within a week (week 5). They kept me on progesterone until the official miscarriage came on at about 7 weeks and it took a month for my HSG to bottom out. It was a horrible month. If the HSG is so low, I’d say it’s what my doctor not “unviable”. Such a sad, negative word!
    Best luck getting started with the next cycle!

    1. I do like my Doc and I don’t think it’s easy to tell us stuff like “You are pregant, but….”
      Everyone is different but my level was so so low, that I think in my case I would prefer to have a horrible period now and try not to be too emotional about what has actually happened inside me. Also I am happy if my body is working well enough to detect that an embryo is unviable and not produce a pregnancy which would miscarry later and undoubtedly cause more heart ache. However, it’s just not nice, and I am doing my utmost to stay positive!! I hope you are doing well with your ttc attempts now!

  2. Ugh. So sorry. That’s frustrating and sad all at once. I’d do it again as soon as possible, but that’s just me. I hope it ends quickly so you can move on and get some of those embies in there!

    1. Thanks! We are ok (see my follow-up post), and gearing up already for AF and a hormone check We;;l then make a decision about whether to plough straight on in again…

  3. So sorry to hear that. I was really hoping for all good news today. I guess the silver lining is that you know you can get pregnant. If it were me, I would want to do it again right away unless there was a physical reason why not to do so. Big hugs to you!

  4. I am so sad to hear that it isn’t a true positive. I’ve heard of a chemical pregnancy before but not sure exactly what it means. I’m so sorry. Feel like I should say to call me if you need to talk! I’m thinking about you two.

    1. Awww, thanks! My next post explains in more detail – it means that the embryo for some reason wasn’t capable of carrying out all its functions (some, obviously cos it tried to implant (or even implanted?) but stopped developing… it is a (very) early miscarriage, essentially, although I don’t really feel too bad. x

  5. I am soooo sorry xxxx Thinking of you always

    1. Ah, thank you for your support! I do feel all right at the moment, but this outlet is invaluable for me- thanks 🙂

  6. I’m so sorry for the final outcome. But like you said there is a silver lining. You know you can get pregnant and you have frozen eggs from your retrieval so your chances for the next cycle are looking good. I look up to your positivity and your strength to pull yourself up.

    1. Ah, thanks! We are hoping next time is another significant step in the right direction, just waiting on my body to start a new cycle xz

Leave a Reply

