Embryo Transfer #2 (2)

Hi all,

The transfer was ok yesterday, I suppose, but I feel a bit ‘nothingy’ about it. I was really happy to see that of the three embryos they thawed, three survived and two of those were a high grade. However, I had a very very bad rest period afterwards. Who knows how that can affect the procedure? After a day at work, I am at home relaxing, which is what I should be doing.

I feel a bit like this transfer was doomed right from the start (feel that optimism shining through!). I think it could be a defense mechanism (i.e. my brain doesn’t want me to get excited and let down again, so it is playing pessimist), and I think part of the story will make you all laugh (maybe in horror, or maybe like I am David Brent /Michael Scott from the (UK /US) office – cringe laughs) Here are the reasons why;

1) after insertion, there was still one embryo left at the tip of the catheta, so they had to repeat the procedure.

2) (this is the one) when I was sent to do my lying down for two hours, I almost immediately needed a (TMI warning, but we are all friends here, right?) poo. Unfortunately my A had to work so I was alone. It is not a hospital and I just could not face telling them I needed to poo into their bedpan. I just couldn’t! But I paid sorely for my embarrassment. I can’t express to you the misery, angst and discomfort one and a half hours of this creates! I was, as you probably imagine, in a clinical setting, lying in a bed with no underwear on. I really thought i might have an accident and really could not rest or relax the whole time. . and come 9pm, an hour and half after my transfer I had to get up. I pressed the nurse button on the wall by my head before I got up, but it obviously wasn’t working. Then I was faced with running through a waiting room brimming with well-to-do Thais to the toilet and doing what I had to do. Really, one of the worst experiences of late!

Anyway, I hope I always entertain and amaze… I include a picture of my sweet little embryos, whom I hope survived all the sweating, cramping and wriggling of that introduction to their new home. What a welcome to my body, Jeez!

2)

20120425-195519.jpg

13 comments

  1. Such lovely embyos! Good luck! This will be your cycle 🙂

    1. Ahhhhhh… I am refusing to get too hopeful, but thank you! 🙂

  2. Good luck!!! Really, really rooting for you and A!

    1. Yeah!! I am trying so hard to be neutral. I find I can manage that in the first half of the 2WW… Next week it will be more of a challenge…. Thanks for your support 🙂

  3. Oh, dear! What an experience! Well, here’s to hoping that this time, everything goes perfectly.

    1. Thank you, I hope so. Really trying to stay calm and neutral! 🙂

  4. Bless your heart! Thinking about you and sending good vibes your way! Just rest and relax the two week wait is killer but can’t wait to hear some good news!

    1. Thanks again 🙂 🙂 I can always count on you for supportive words

  5. I am thinking of you and let me tell you miracles still happen ….

    1. thank you 🙂 🙂

  6. Hi! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today. I’m sending you my very best wishes. My partner and I tried for seven years and were on the verge of giving up when decided to give it one more try. Our daughter is almost four years old now. We’re having the time of our lives being moms. All the ups and downs of getting there are absolutely WORTH IT.

    1. Hi Lemony,
      Thank you so much for your lovely supportive comment. I am glad it worked out for you. We still don’t know if it will be successful this time or not, but it is very tough trying to decide when to call it a day. My emotions seem to swing wildly from ‘it’s time to give up!’ to ‘I am never giving up!’.
      Thanks again. I want so much for it to work out, but i’m trying not to get my hopes up.

  7. (Thanks for giving me the link back to this blog. I sensed that you had probably replied, but the notifications box maxxes out at 9, and so I never got the indicator.) Anyway, I remember so well how hard the all of the waiting can be, and how challenging it is to say positive and in the moment with it all. I kept coaching myself on not getting my hopes up (and coaching those around us, too, because I didn’t want to have to deal with their emotions about it: mine and my partner’s were plenty.) Your photographs are beautiful. I’m signing up for both blogs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

