It’s happened.

Well, I still can’t believe it, exactly, so I am allowing some time to digest it. I am also hyper aware of fragility in there… but

SO FAR

We are pregnant.

I hoped we were, obviously, and I was wondering whether this time I was feeling somehow ‘different’ or whether that was my imagination. Thanks for all your lovely messages of support – it is such an invaluable and lovely community we have here. I know that we experience a real mix of emotions when someone we care about falls pregnant and our turn hasn’t yet come. However, I am only too aware that pregnancy carries many risks, and this positive beta might not get us very far – and it is a long road a to a birth!

So in my last posts I mentioned that before the Beta test we did some more pee tests, all of which were positive, but not glaringly so. The lines got darker, but then stayed the same. I started to think that the same thing had happened as last month, and cursed for not having tested on the first cycle for a comparison.

20120509-164046.jpgΒ  Β 20120509-164123.jpg

On Monday night I couldn’t sleep so on Tues I was pretty much a zombie – and a very distracted one (sorry kids!). Tues is along day – my heaviest timetable at work + playground duty + staff meeting + Homeless kids and then + clinic. So it was 6pm by the time I was leavign the park to head to the clinic.

I want to tell you about what happened at the clinic yesterday because it is really funny, but I have to fill you in on the background first. I made a friend, M through this blog because she had some questions about getting pregnant as a lesbian in Bangkok (see, there is a niche market here!). Anyway, to cut a long story short, we ended up seeing each other a lot at the clinic, and so we shared a lot of laughs and stories.

So I am on my way to the clinic at about 6 and we cross paths. She’s already had her bloodtest before I have even arrived. The idea of her positive beta coming through while I am tearing out my hair waiting flashes through my mind and I quicken my step as I approach the building. I wait around 20 mins for my bloodtest and settle down to the news that A’s tyrant kitchen can’t let her come to meet me at 7 as we had arranged (this time it is a visiting raw food expert, meaning loads of guests and the impossibility of A slipping off early.), but soon M and her gf rocked up and we had a really nice time talking about our experiences. The time went about as fast as it possibly could have done due to their good company, but I was still dreading another negative.

Our nice older nurse was walking back and forth attending to other patients. At a certain point by which an hour had certainly passed since my beta, let alone M’s, she seemed to be rather smiley. Then after a few more perambulations, she said, in broken English, “it’s ok, same same…’ pointed at us both and continued, “Pregnancy!” . So, there in the waiting room, we discovered that both of us, positive betas.!

After we recovered from the shock, we had a good laugh about that…! Unconventional, to say the least!

Wait! There’s more… the numbers from the actual Doc. I was called in first (??!?!?!), and Doc said that is was indeed ‘good news’, and that my numbers were very high. SO high, that it is quite likely to be a multiple pregnancy.

Last time we had a 7, and he told me it needed to be at least 100. My number this time?

20120509-164139.jpg

M had an incredible 45 eggs (more than double mine) so we joked that her number would be almost 4000 – and it was! So perhaps between us we can create a football team? Doc said that we would do the first scan on the 27th to “see how many there are”.

I need to come back each week in between tho tof progesterone shots and blood obs. Poor old M; if she doesn’t like me, she is a bit stuck, cos it looks as though we will be seeing each other every week till she heads back to Europe!

35 comments

  1. so happy for you! this is wonderful news! sending smiles from ny :oD

    1. Oh, thank you! it doens’t seem real yet, and we are trying not to get excited, but it is impossible!

  2. *clapping hands* Congrats my friend, I have no words to tell you how happy I am for both you guys. I always believed you guys will get it, good luck with the waiting to the first scan for me that was worse that the 2 ww. AGain so very happy for you ((hugs))

    1. Hello! thank you and congrats on the scan and the heartbeat! I am still not at that stage. Praying that my numbers have come up by Tues!

  3. Yay!!! Yay!!!! Amazing!!!

    1. Thank you!

  4. Yay!!! Yay!!! Amazing!!! So happy for you!!!!

    1. Whoop whoop!!

  5. Yay!!!! Those numbers are high. So happy for you and A!! πŸ™‚

    1. You told me you had a feeling…! You were right. Now hoping it sticks. x I hope we give hope to you girls!

  6. Whoop Whoop!!!

    1. YEah, whoop! Still have to be careful though, so slowing everything buyt work right down. I feel so tired (but don’t know if it is just because I had the positive, or if I am actually tired!). Thinking of you right now as your Beta is very soon (the time difference confuses me, but I am with you). R

      1. Thank you. I understand the careful thing completely. I would be exactly the same. Only a few minutes/hours until I know for sure!

    1. Thank you! We have been thanking the universe and anyone and everyone we asked for help… We are praying that we are carried out of the woods over the next 2 months now πŸ™‚

  7. Excellent news!! πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you – it is excellent news adn we can’t beleive it – we had really started to think it would never happen. Worrying isn’t over yet though – I am trying to be a huge slob!

  8. Congratulations!!! I’ve been reading your blog in the last couples of weeks and I am delighted for your good news! I really enjoyed reading the story of your friend in the clinic, it must be so nice to have somebody to talk to that understards what you are going through.
    Enjoy every minute of this amazing news!

    1. Thank you! Unfortunately she will leave Thailand in July, but I think we will certainly have made a bond over this! It was an extra-nice experience finding out like that together!

  9. Yay!! Congratulations! And whoa on those numbers–looking forward to hearing who all you have in there. And so sweet that you and your friend can both be preggo at the same time! πŸ™‚

    1. yes, though looking into the numbers it could simply be that the single embryo has been a bit ahead of itself – can’t wait till next Tues for the next number. πŸ™‚

  10. Ahhhh! I have tears of joy for you two! I know how long you have waited for this and I know that you two will be amazing moms! I’m excited that we can now follow each other on this journey of having babies! You’re only a few months behind me! Yay!

    1. LOL yep! I have got a lot of reading material… The whole thing is a waiting game. I am now waiting till Tues to see my blood level. Fingers crossed for that!

  11. That’s wonderful news! I hope that in the next six months or so, we’re in the same situation… well, we wouldn’t be in the exact same situation, but our surrogate. You know what I mean. Congratulations!

    1. Yes, like i say, we really can’t believe it. I had been worried about the cramps I was having but they have stopped for now, so I think everything must be ok. Doesn’t feel like much is happening though I feel tired and my boobs hurt. I would love to know more about the surrogacy process. How have you organised that here?

  12. Congratulations! I am so excited for you two. My thoughts are with you through this next step in the waiting game. But in the meantime, yay! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, it seems completely unreal. I hope this gives you some hope that sooner or later it will happen to you too. Before it does, you don’t believe it, but it will happen.

  13. Congratulations!!!! That is so exciting πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Jenn! We are excited and yet still trying to take it all in… Still very delicate times and no sign but the balloon boobs. X

  14. Hey, I found you through Amy at My TTC Obstacle Course. Congratulations, this is fantastic news!

    1. Thank you, and thanks for reading!

  15. This post gave me goosebumps when I read it! A just gave me your link a month or so ago, I had no idea you were blogging about the process all this time.
    I’m so sorry it’s taken so long–ours took years–but this news is just awesome!!
    Hope they hang in there and keep on truckin!

    1. Yeah, we have 6 weeks to go till we are safe… it feels like it is going to be a looooooong wait. However I will be on my summer break for some of the second trimester to get to grips with changing shape and size. Thank goodness – I am already so tired. The nausea seems to be passing already, but has been replaced with very strange hunger cravings. I mean – I just ate, and yet there I am feelign as though I have to eat again right that second. I don’t know whether to fight it to avoid weight gain, or go with it because my body is telling me to do some serious eating..!?
      xx

  16. Of course I’m playing catch up but CONGRATULATIONS!!! I know you guys are elated! Ok, ok, going to finish reading the rest of the blogs…. πŸ™‚

    1. Hey thank you! I have been feeling pretty awful on and off but I know it will all be worth it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

