5 weeks along

A little bit of pregnancy news; I am now in the 6th week and apparently this is the time when the embryo spurts from the size of an orange pip to the size of a blueberry. 

Dr (not usual Dr as he is away being an amazing Dr abroad) has told me the only exercise I should do is swimming because cycling isn’t recommended. Very annoying as we just got a new exercise bike. Hey ho.

I have been having a few panics and flaps about the fact that this is going to be a real person who will eventually grow into a real adult (and an adolescent first >.< ). 

 M and I both got our week 5 levels (My blogging friend Jenn told me I ought to clarify who ‘M’ is – she is the girl who contacted me because of the blog, and has ended up at the same clinic, with a cycle (and therefore transfers and clinic days, and even a due date) synched with mine!) : 

R: 25618    M:34000      Average: 4090 / Range: 2000 -6530

Dr told me she would expect my levels to indicate twins, and M’s to indicate triplets. Yikes!

It has been driving me crazy not being able to talk about this. I am tired and bloated, but the main issue I am having is my boobs – they have taken on a life of their own. I mean they look round and firm, but I have new thread veins on them and my areolas are massive and puffed up. And they hurt! 

I know it is early days, but i refuse to worry endlessly about the possibility that the embryo may stop developing. I will have to deal with that if and when I come to it.

17 comments

  1. i really like that you refuse to worry endlessly about what could go wrong. i think i should copy you 🙂

    1. A good friend of mine who was told she couldn’t get pregnant (now has two boys) has pleaded with me to stay calm. I am trying!

  2. I was really confused for a second there! I thought M was your partner and you guys were going to have 5 kids! Haha, but I figured it out….Congrats!!! I hope those levels just keep going up and up!

    1. I will have to edit that – M is the random friend I made at the clinic who is now on exactly the same schedule / due date as I am. She is great. I am only just coming to terms with a possible two – five!? Ummm…
      I was relieved that the levels seem to be going up nicely, so fingers crossed they will carry on. x

  3. If you don’t mind me asking, how many embryos did you have implanted this time? Our dr. is saying he would want to do no more than two, to minimize the risk of multiple births, although I think twins would be fine for us.

    1. We had three. Our doc is and we are aware that in western IVF culture that like to insert fewer embryos. Some european countries enforce SET (single embryo transfer) because single pregnancies involve less complications. My doc says in Thailand / the culture of his clinic, most parents give importance to higher pregnancy rates over the risks associated with multiple births. After my first transfer (also 3 embryos), it was barely conceivable (pardon the pun) that we would be having any successful implantations, so we went for thawing three in transfer #2. We were not sure that all three would have survived after thawing either, so that decision didn’t actually connect to the 20% likelihood of twins. I think most IVF patient feel that twins would be tricky but that triplets are something they never expect will happen to them. The probability is a tiny 1% of the pregnancies (which in itself is only 40% chance). Got to go! Bell just rang!

      1. I also wanted to mention the medical costs- my doc claims it is less expensive to deal with multiples here than it is in europe (or that European public health services don’t want to pay for potential complications). But the bills here seem pretty expensive to me!

      2. Thanks for that additional information. Our egg donor is flying to Thailand the end of next week so hopefully sometime in the next few months we have a surrogate and are starting that step. I think the risk of twins is acceptable (and twins would actually be okay by me) and the risk of triplets low enough to take.

      3. Wow, exciting! Someone asked me about donor eggs in Thailand, but that isn’t something i know much about. Has it been tough to organise here?

      4. Well, we’re actually using an egg donor we already know from outside Thailand. She’ll fly in this month to do the donation. Hopefully by the end of June we have frozen embryos.

      5. Very exciting times for you too then! Good luck with the egg collection and I hope she responds well to the drugs. Can I ask what your clinic has said about the relationship? Do they know everything about you, or did you have to make something up?

      6. We’ve been forthright about our relationship from the starting. Working with BNH.

      7. ok, that is great. It is good to know that there is another place which accepts alternative families.

  4. veetamia · · Reply

    “I know it is early days, but i refuse to worry endlessly about the possibility that the embryo may stop developing. I will have to deal with that if and when I come to it. ”
    Right on. I will make this my mantra from now on!
    And congrats on those numbers!

    1. I think it is better for us not to stress and worry… We can do it! 🙂

  5. Such good news my friend, I cannot tell you how happy I am for you guys. About the boobs, I am in 7 weeks now and they still hurt like hell. It is almost the only symptom that I am still pregnant so I embrace it and when I get scared that I might not be pregnant anymore tomorrow I press hard against them, feel the pain and it comfort me, I know odd but it helps for me.

    Only positive thoughs!!

    1. I know what you mean. I feel pretty sick after eating and I am extremely bloated, so not my only symptom lol!

Leave a Reply

