Double trouble: week 6

As our doc was away for our week 6 appointment, he wanted us to have the scan on Sunday once he has returned. However, when we arrived early at the clinic old-lady-nurse asked us if we preferred to have it on this visit…. Erm, no brainer really! First scan is usually done on week 6… A in particular wanted to know whether we had one or two beans.

You’ll be happy to hear that my severe nausea seems to have passed, so it only lasted about 5 days. I am now just feeling occasionally queasy. However, a very strange development is that I am being plagued by random attacks of severe hunger, even after eating. I feel as though I haven’t eaten all day. Is that common?

We had to wait quite a long time; had we just been having the jab as planned we could have been in and out by 4.30. As it was though the clinic was open, the doctors were not yet onsite.

We were called in for the sonogram at about 5.30, and as soon as she had put it in she said “Twins.”

20120523-144951.jpg

You can see the two placental sacs very clearly here.

Then we heard the first heartbeat. What a feeling. For those of you still hanging on for your BFPs- it is worth it. Keep trying! I pray every day that you will get to experience this soon.

The rates of both heartbeats were normal and she said both my ovaries look healthy too.

Here is a last shot of one of the beans where the actual baby can be clearly seen:

20120523-145035.jpg

Good luck everyone with procedures coming up! Xxxx

28 comments

  1. babylopez8410 · · Reply

    OMG!!!!! Congrats. You just brought tears to me eyes. So happy for you.

    1. I know you will be lucky before too long, too! Thanks for your support πŸ™‚

  2. veetamia · · Reply

    Me too!!! Wonderful news!!!

    1. Thank you, looking forward to following your next steps! It means so much to have your support πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      1. veetamia · ·

        Glad to be there cheering on! I hope my miracle comes soon, but meanwhile stocking up on good thoughts and mantras and getting healthy!
        Ps. I’m a twin! And I vouch for the cool factor of being one! Congrats on your babies again πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my word!!! *clapping hands, jumping up and down with tears running down my face* How absolutely wonderful are this???!?!?!?!?!

    I am so very happy for you guys xxx

    1. πŸ™‚ it’s pretty wonderful! Was so amazing to see them!

  4. Whoop whoop! How very exciting!! Congratulations. xx

    1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Oh My Word!!! This is just awesome. My heart skipped a beat reading your post. I’m so happy for up guys !!

    1. Thank you for your support and kind words! We just hope they are gonna be strong and hang on till the 12 weeks and then the 40 weeks stages… come on little critters, stick!

      1. Oh Roxx! I’m praying along with you my friend.

  6. That is brilliant brilliant news! I can’t believe you can already see them on a scan! And that it’s a them! Am really, really happy for you.

    1. It is rather bonkers! But in a really really good way! xxx

  7. thebings · · Reply

    Congratulations! So happy for you two!

    1. Thank you so much!! πŸ™‚

  8. Ah, yes! When I saw your beta I went to look up mine and thought….I think there are TWO in there! There’s a twin group in BKK, but you probably already know that. Good place to get some quality used equipment like strollers, etc. Congrats again!!!

    1. I did NOT know that! I will have a google! Thanks again! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    1. double trouble…. ai me those first months are going to be tough! But at least I don’t need to ruin my body twice. That I am very relieved about (does that paint me in a bad light? Right now I am ballooning, and let’s face it, it’s only going to get worse)…

  9. Twins! So exciting, congrats!

    1. Thanks Katie – very excited! We were hoping in the end to have two, so this gets it all out of the way at the same time!

    1. Thank you!

  10. YAYYY!!! OMG – I’m so happy for you! And yes, even in the 3rd trimester, I still get hunger attacks even after I’ve eaten. I try to just drink water when this happens, though, so I don’t gain more weight than I need to.

    1. Thank you! We are pretty happy too but still desperately waiting to be home and dry at 12 weeks. In a book yesterday I read the MC risk is 15% up to 8 weeks and then it falls to only 3%. So you are a lot more ‘safe’ at 8 weeks than 6. Encouraging.! After the 12 weeks the percentage chance of miscarrrying is less than 1%.
      Regarding the hunger, I also try water. If that’s no good, an apple, then if still no joy a banana and a digestive biscuit (wholewheat yumminess!).

  11. Holy Crap!!! This is so exciting! I just had a feeling from the start that it would be twins! Talk about well worth the wait! Now you will have 2 little Bundles of Joy on the way! I can’t tell you how happy I am for you two!

    1. It is really exciting. I am a little nervous because everywhere I look I read that I will be absolutely HUGE and that we WILL need help around for the first few months etc etc… but we’re very happy πŸ™‚ !

Leave a Reply

