9 and a half weeks.

Blood. Scary stuff.

I am bleeding. I was lying down with the amazing book my mum sent after my walk home from work. I felt fine and went to the toilet… Blood. Red, new blood. I wiped and there was more. I looked at my watch and saw it was around 6pm. My mind was all ascramble as i realised the worst could be happening. I managed to call A, get myself presentable and get myself on the way to the doctor’s before a few tears came out.

When I got there, A was waiting for me and we had an agonising wait for our ultrasound as they squeezed us into the already busy schedule. I was (and still am) experiencing a dull ache on the left, but no serious pain or discomfort.

Thankfully the ultrasound showed significant activity (both babies were really moving about in there), strong heartbeats and significant growth since tues. Both had grown 4mm in length so there are no obvious problems. It was such an emotional evening.

Doc’s explanation was linked to my stage of pregnancy. He says that between 8 and 12 weeks The pregnancy is actually much safer than at 2-8 weeks because the placental attachment is already established and strong. However the attachment of the placentas to the uterine wall can be quite aggressive and in some of us causes a bleeding – just like embryo implantation can. However because things are so much bigger by this stage, so is the amount of blood that comes out.

So I am on bed rest this weekend and I am now on minimal activity at work. As little walking as possible (no more walks home). Ideally he’d like me not to go to work but that’s just not possible. We have been given a lot more progesterone too.

Wish us luck. Stay strong, wriggling jelly babies!

27 comments

  1. babylopez8410 · · Reply

    That’s really scary. Glad everything is ok!!! Just try to take it easy

    1. Yeah, this weekend I will be mostly lying on my butt..! Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  2. So glad everything is ok. I got really scared when I read the first line. Hope you have a restful weekend, gotta take care of those babes πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Jenn, I know I have to take it really really easy over the next couple of weeks, and lie down for these couple of days. I hope my walking home from work wasn’t too much for them! Feel a bit guilty.

  3. Yikes. That brought up a very scary memory from about 20 weeks ago. Seriously, take it easy. I bled for 8 weeks, starting at week 13, and was outside my mind for that entire time. But now I’m here at a very round, healthy, and blood-free 33 weeks (almost). You will be absolutely fine and so will the babies. Just take it easy and listen to everything the doctor says.

    1. Thank you for the support. It’s good to hear that bleeding doesn’t always signal trouble! Bleeding for eight weeks, though, that is a really long time! Did your doctor have any explanations for it? My doc said he would expect my bleeding to stop in about 3 days.

      1. Yep – I had a sub-chorionic hemorrhage that was discovered on my very first ultrasound. Sometimes they are asymptomatic, but other times they body has to bleed itself out. My body chose the latter route, so I bled until there was no more left to come out. It slowed down a great deal after the first two weeks…became more of a nuisance than anything else. But it kept me on “modified bedrest” for that entire 8-week period – no exercise, no lifting, no excessive bending or straining.

  4. Can’t even imagine how scary and stressful that must have been for you both. I’m glad the ultrasound showed everything was ok and the doc had a good explanation for it all. Take care and rest up.

    1. Thank you!

  5. Whew! That must have been incredibly scary. What a relief it’s all part of the process. Hope the next several days are very restful.

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m in bed this morning and A is getting my breakfast. I’m not moving! πŸ™‚

  6. I am so glad everything is okay. Rest and relax. i will be praying for all of you and sending positive thoughts! Take care πŸ™‚

    1. Think everything is… Planning how I’m going to tell my boss next week…

  7. You must have been terrified. I’m so pleased that things are ok and hope you don’t move a muscle. Do you at least have tv?

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I hope you are starting to feel better now?

  8. Well, I sure am glad to hear that it was nothing serious. There are so many potential complications, along the way, aren’t there?

    Our egg donor (my sister) is here this week and with any luck we’ll pluck those eggs out the middle of next week. I have to thank you for having this blog, as it sure feels better know there are other folks out there blazing this trail.

    1. πŸ™‚ A very exciting time for you!! Have you found a surrogate, or is that a step you still have to climb?

  9. That must have been so scary, just so happy everything are ok. Please take care of yourself and those little ones. Thinking of you xxx

    1. Yes, it was scary but things have settled down πŸ™‚ thanks for your thoughts.

  10. So glad to hear that everything is okay now! I’ll be thinking about you two!

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚

  11. I’m glad all is well! Rest up!

    1. πŸ™‚ thank you!

  12. Leanne · · Reply

    My wife and I has a similar scare at 10 weeks. There was a lot of heavy red bleeding but after a scary trip to the ER and 2 ultrasounds later all was well. We are now at 30 weeks and still going strong. Glad you and the babies are healthy

    1. Thanks- it’s really scary and I can’t wait for tomorrow’s scan just to confirm they’re still strong and growing! πŸ™‚

  13. It has to be one of the scariest things to go through! I hope everything is going well for you and your little ones! Keeping fingers crossed for you πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks ladies! Wishing you all the best too. I am waiting now for the next routine scan, so I’ll know for sure in a while πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

