Illness, travel and milestones

Hi everyone, hope you are all doing well. I want to cover our trip to Vietnam, and the pregnancy and my illness all in one post- it’s quite tricky to write nicely on an iPhone due to the teeny screen, but I still haven’t had a chance to fix the computer. Unfortunately I’m writing from my sick bed (again), but don’t worry, double trouble are fine.

Vietnam was great. I wish we could’ve travelled around a bit more but our budget was quite tight and I am also really fragile. We did a lot of strolling around the old tree-lined streets. The Hanoi is such a lovely city. Sure it’s noisy and doesn’t have the cleanest air, but coming from Bangkok those things hardly jump out at you. I really enjoyed simply getting to know the place.
Here are some photos of Hanoi (and the riverboat one is from our one day trip):

20120711-105520.jpg

20120711-105614.jpg

20120711-105655.jpg

20120711-105758.jpg

20120711-105827.jpg

20120711-105853.jpg

20120711-105924.jpg

20120711-105949.jpg

20120711-110006.jpg

20120711-110104.jpg
Both of us did do a lot of walking and exploring the city, but a lot of resting too. The cafes are great, and i loved things being at street level- no malls in sight, and no mcdonalds (KFC is established though). It is a really interesting place whose colonial past is really evident in the layout of the town, with wide, tree-lined avenues and lakes and green spaces dotted about. It really has a far more European feel than Bkk. A more significant difference is that for whatever reason,the big trees and old buildings have been respected and preserved. I am so sorry that the government here has just torn everything old down in the name of malls and ‘progress’ and continue to do so to this day. You know i really like Bkk, but they have a real deficit in town planning, and a huge penchant for concrete. I have a ton more pictures but on my camera /laptop which I can’t currently connect to the Internet.

We ate some really delicious food too. Something, though made me really feel ill on Sunday. I think it was this:

20120711-111216.jpg
But it looks innocuous enough, right? I couldn’t finish it because there was WAY too much of that creamy sauce. On the way home after eating it I got awful tummy cramps that kept me awake through the night and continued through Monday and involved some bad business on the loo. What’s really pissing me off though is this godawful headache that is still hanging around. I got through all our official business (more on that later πŸ™‚ ) and the flight home without much ado but I’m still in bed (and I just vomited for the first time since I got pg – food poisoning, virus, or the final logical follow through of months of nausea?! Who knows?!). Oh yeah- almost forgot! Then I started to bleed on that morning. Not new blood, just browny/ pale brown, but the icing on the cake!

Let me just mention (trying to keep some semblance of chronology going here) our embassy visits. We went on our first morning to act as witnesses for a friend of ours and her partner. They are the ones who informed us that the Civil Partnership can be registered at the UK embassies in Vietnam, so it was nice to do this with them. We also got to see what the deal will be when it’s our turn in August. It is literally an office with space only for 4 or 5 people including the brides /grooms, but the staff were so lovely. We had a delicious lunch together and our friends returned to Bkk that evening.

On the 9th, the last day of our stay, we went back to give our notice, and handed over all the necessary documents and fee. We had to fill in a few forms, and that was it! Very simple but exciting first step towards our married life together. I feel so lucky!! This is a milestone in itself. πŸ™‚

Speaking of those, yesterday we hit 13 weeks (and I believe the end of the first trimester?). I was due to see my Dr in the evening but in the morning I thought I had better get checked out to see what the hell’s wrong with me. I didn’t want to risk anything given that i’m carrying my precious passengers. When I got to the hospital, noone wanted to check out what is causing me to feel this sick, they just whisked me straight over to Gyno and checked out the babies. Who are huge (8 and 7.5cm) and ‘very active’, by the way. All good news but I still feel like crap (i’m not a sufferer of headaches- they really suck!!) and haven’t been diagnosed. I guess seeing as I have no fever and my pooping is back to normal they aren’t worried. My usual dr was also totally unperturbed at both the headache and ongoing nausea and bleeding. Guess what I have to do? Lie in bed, of course!

However, I feel no better today, and I am a bit worried that I actually chucked up. I just hope it is pregnancy relayed and not a sign I am seriously poisoned (can’t be, right? The docs aren’t concerned, bowls are working, but why does my head pound so??).

So, I am going to sleep it off, I guess, but I really wanted to update you.

All the best of luck to you guys ttc and in the first trimester. Sending lots of baby-love and good luck thoughts as always.
Xoxo

11 comments

  1. Hope you get to feeling better soon! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ i am really trying not to feel sorry for myself…!

  2. I always enjoy your updates, especially because I love traveling more than just about anything, but after my trip to Turkey in March I’m stuck at home for a while!

    1. Thank you, I am glad they are enjoyable, especially as I feel a bit like I’m just whining. (I just woke up and seem to feel a bit better this morning. A bit soon to tell though.)

  3. What a trip! Sorry you got sick but am glad to hear things are progressing well.

    1. πŸ™‚ yeah, it’s taken three days in bed but I am finally beginning to feel more human. I wonder if it has taken so long for my body to cope with it because it’s ‘busy’ with this other business!??! πŸ˜‰

  4. Hope you are feeling better by now, that pasta looked like it was made with eggs, maybe they were off? Anyway keep us posted!

    1. Yeah, I just emailed the restaurant about it- I’ll see what they have to say. Everything else I ate that day, A also ate, so I can’t see it was anything but that pasta… Starting to feel a little bit better! πŸ™‚

  5. Your photos of Vietnam brought back memories for me when I visited in 1998 :). Especially that church :).

    Thank you for that.

    1. πŸ™‚ it was a really good trip- just getting to know the city πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

